You are here:

staff directory

Kim Korinek Director kim.korinek@soc.utah.edu
Haimanti Bhattacharya Director of Graduate Studies haimanti.bhattacharya@utah.edu
Bryce Garner Associate Director, Administration bryce.garner@utah.edu
Luciano Marzulli K-16 Outreach Coordinator l.marzulli@utah.edu
Patrick Cheney FLAS and Scholarships Coordinator, Graduate Advisor patrick.cheney@utah.edu
Meredith Medina Events and Communications Coordinator meredith.medina@utah.edu
Faith Brown Undergraduate Advisor faith.brown@utah.edu
Blanca Yagüe CLAC Coordinator clac@utah.edu
Stephanie Kim Graduate Assistant 

sookim1130@gmail.com

Bryce Garner

Bryce graduated from the University of Utah with degrees in History and Asian Studies.  After graduation, he worked in Japan for five years on the Japanese Exchange and Teaching Program.  He has traveled extensively in Central America, East Asia, and Southeast Asia.  He has language abilities in Vietnamese, Japanese, and Chinese.  He has worked for the Center for Latin American Studies and the Asia Center since 2010.


Luciano Marzulli

Lu is a proud alum of the University of Utah and has worked in higher education since 2006.  Professionally, Lu’s focus has been on advocacy and support for first generation college students and students of color.  Through his outreach role in International and Area Studies, he looks forward to developing and maintaining community partnerships to continue this work. Lu enjoys street food, fiction books, comedy films and being outdoors. He is fluent in English and Spanish. 

Lu es graduado de  la Universidad de Utah y  ha trabajado en instituciones/servicios post-secundarios desde 2006.  Profesionalmente su enfoque ha sido en ayudar y apoyar estudiantes que son minorias o que son estudiantes de primera generación (los primeros en sus familias de asistir a la Universidad). A través de su papel dentro del departamento de estudios internacionales el esta entusiasmado de crear y mantener colaboraciones comunitarias para seguir apoyando estudiantes.  Lu disfruta la comida de la calle, leer obras de ficcion, ver peliculas de comedia y pasar el tiempo afuera.  Lu habla Inglés y Español. 


Patrick Cheney

Patrick graduated from the University of Utah with a B.A. in Political Science and International Studies and M.A. in Latin American Studies. He speaks Guarani, an indigenous language of South America, and Nahuatl, an indigenous language of Mexico. He speaks Spanish, enjoys Latin American literature tremendously, and has experience as a Spanish language medical interpreter. He has worked on migrant rights projects as well as refugee resettlement. In elementary school, he once painted a tile that declared “Soccer rules” and is still convinced. He plays and applauds often.  


Meredith Medina

Meredith graduated from North Carolina State University in 2015 with a degree in Sociology. Meredith loves to try new foods, watch movies, and especially travel. After graduation, she moved around in the U.S. before moving to China to teach in English and American Culture. She has traveled extensively during her free time, including some of her favorite countries: Vietnam, Italy, Greece and Uruguay. She has goals to travel to 40 countries and visit all 50 states in the near future.


Faith Brown

Born in West Virginia, Faith Brown moved extensively up and down the east coast until recently settling down in Layton, Utah. She graduated from the University of North Georgia with a B.A. in Communications, where she also conducted undergraduate research in the field of public relations. After graduating, she went on to teach English in Bulgaria for two years on a Fulbright grant. While there she worked as Assistant Director of the BEST foundation, an international educational nonprofit organization. Her work as an educator quickly turned into a passion for helping students achieve their goals, leading her into the world of academic advising. In her free time she enjoys reading, kayaking, trying out new soup recipes, and pretending she knows how to sing and dance.

Kim Korinek headshotKim Korinek

Director

Email

learn more

  

 

Last Updated: 7/21/21