You are here:

staff directory

Janet Theiss
Director janet.theiss@utah.edu
Kim Korinek Associate Director kim.korinek@soc.utah.edu
Haimanti Bhattacharya Director of Graduate Studies haimanti.bhattacharya@economics.utah.edu
Bryce Garner Administrative Manager bryce.garner@utah.edu
Luciano Marzulli K-16 Outreach Coordinator l.marzulli@utah.edu
Minami Maggard Office Assistant minami.maggard@utah.edu
Rocío Torres Mora Scholarship & Event Coordinator  rocio.torresmora@utah.edu
Lucia Rubio CLAC Coordinator lucia.rubio@utah.edu 
Amy Elford Undergraduate Advisor amy.elford@utah.edu
Ashley Glenn Undergraduate Advisor ea.glenn@utah.edu
Maria Lara Undergraduate Advisor maria.lara@utah.edu 

About the Staff

Bryce Garner

Bryce graduated from the University of Utah with degrees in History and Asian Studies.  After graduation, he worked in Japan for five years on the Japanese Exchange and Teaching Program.  He has traveled extensively in Central America, East Asia, and Southeast Asia.  He has language abilities in Vietnamese, Japanese, and Chinese.  He has worked for the Center for Latin American Studies and the Asia Center since 2010.

Luciano Marzulli

Lu is a proud alum of the University of Utah and has worked in higher education since 2006.  Professionally, Lu’s focus has been on advocacy and support for first generation college students and students of color.  Through his outreach role in International and Area Studies, he looks forward to developing and maintaining community partnerships to continue this work. Lu enjoys street food, fiction books, comedy films and being outdoors. He is fluent in English and Spanish. 

Lu es graduado de  la Universidad de Utah y  ha trabajado en instituciones/servicios post-secundarios desde 2006.  Profesionalmente su enfoque ha sido en ayudar y apoyar estudiantes que son minorias o que son estudiantes de primera generación (los primeros en sus familias de asistir a la Universidad). A través de su papel dentro del departamento de estudios internacionales el esta entusiasmado de crear y mantener colaboraciones comunitarias para seguir apoyando estudiantes.  Lu disfruta la comida de la calle, leer obras de ficcion, ver peliculas de comedia y pasar el tiempo afuera.  Lu habla Inglés y Español.

Rocío Torres Mora

Bio coming soon! 

Minami Maggard

Minami has been with the Asia Center and Center for Latin American Studies since January 2014. She graduated from the University of Utah in 2015 with degrees in Chinese and Asian Studies. She has language abilities in Japanese and Chinese. 

Amy Elford

Amy completed her B.A. in German Studies at the University of Arizona and went on to complete her M.A. in International Education at the School for International Training.  Although she calls California home, she has spent a significant amount of time living abroad in Germany, Italy and Croatia.  Her love of foreign languages, cultures and travel led her to pursue a graduate degree that would allow her to encourage students to gain international perspectives and participate in experiential education opportunities.  New to Salt Lake City, Amy is enjoying everything her new surroundings have to offer and is looking forward to picking up a winter sport once the snow hits! 

Ashley Glenn

A graduate of the University of Utah, Ashley studied Colonialism and Imperialism in the Department of History and, through the graduate program, further developed interests in topics of inequality, access to health and education, gender, and more. After graduating, she moved to Wuhan, China to teach academic and business writing and filled any time off from teaching with travelling. Now having returned to the U, Ashley enjoys helping students find connections between their studies and their international interests. Outside of advising, Ashley continues to stay engaged—volunteering as Alternative Spring Break Staff Partner through the Bennion Center, a writing tutor for Upward Bound, and continuing to study Chinese.

Maria Lara

Maria completed a B.A. in International Studies with an emphasis in Latin America and a second B.A. in Spanish Teaching with a minor in Linguistics, both at the University of Utah. Although she calls Salt Lake City home, she is originally from Ecuador and has spent some time travelling through Europe and the Americas. Her passion for education, languages and different cultures have led her to pursue a career in higher education promoting international studies. Before coming back to her alma mater, she worked at Salt Lake Community College in the department of School Relations as a Recruitment Advisor. She has years of experience in marketing, taught Spanish/ESL to adults and children, and has collaborated with different educational institutions and community organizations throughout the valley. When she is not working with students or in the community, you can find her enjoying the outdoors, improving her cooking skills or planning her next trip!

Last Updated: 9/15/16